Scientific Advisors

Anton Stuetz, Ph.D. has been Executive Director of Dermatology in Novartis until 2013. Dr. Stuetz studied chemistry and physics at the University of Vienna 1965 –1972 and has a Ph.D. in Organic Synthesis and a postdoc in molecular biology from the Max Planck Institute. Dr. Stuetz subsequently joined the Sandoz Research Institute where he developed the topical anti-infective medicament terbinafine (Lamisil®). Lamisil is today’s golden standard for oral and topical treatment of skin and nail fungal infections. Furthermore, Lamisil has achieved accumulated sales of >10 B USD. In 1986 Dr. Stuetz established the Dermatology Research Department within the Sandoz Research Institute. Here he developed tacrolimus (Protopic®) and pimecrolimus (Elidel®) who were the first two therapeutically effective and registered non-steroids topical treatments against atopic dermatitis. In 1994 Dr. Stuetz was appointed professor of pharmaceutical chemistry at the University of Vienna. He is the author/co-author of 92 publications, 176 abstracts and 35 patents. In 2004 Dr. Stuetz received the ‘Erwin Schroedinger Preis’ by Austria´s Academy of Sciences and he served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Society for Investigative Dermatology from 2005-2010. In 2011 Dr. Stuetz received the prestigious ‘Eugene J. Van Scott Award’ for Innovative Therapy of the Skin and the ‘Philipp Frost Leadership Lecture’ by the American Academy of Dermatology.

Tim Raczniak, Ph.D. is a toxicologist specialized in Nonclinical Safety Assessment with 35 years of experience in the pharmaceutical industry. He served as the Senior Director, Safety Assessment/Toxicology at Stiefel Laboratories between 2007 and 2013 and was the Head of Toxicology at GlaxoSmithKline from 1998 to 2007. Raczniak is a member of the Society of Toxicology, American College of Toxicology, and the Society of Toxicologic Pathologists. He has authored and prepared almost 2000 technical reports, including INDs and NDAs, expert scientific reviews, regulatory responses, and toxicology profiles. Raczniak received his M.Sc. in Parasitology from Northern Illinois University, and his Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

John Pace, Ph.D. is an Executive Director at ATCC Center of Translational Microbiology and Vice President at AntibioTx. Dr. Pace has more than 20 years of biopharma experience from leading pharmaceutical companies and contributed to the discovery and advancement of 12 clinical candidates including four anti-infectives which are now marketed. Dr. Pace is the co-inventor of Vibativ® which has been globally approved for complicated skin MRSA infections and Hospital-Acquired Bacterial Pneumonia, as well as three anti-infective clinical candidates. Dr. Pace was a Director of Clinical Development at GSK Stiefel and has rich experience in topical antibiotics with a particular focus on Retapamulin for treatment of skin infections. As a Director of Anti-Infective Pharmacology, he led the in-vitro and in-vivo antibacterial discovery and support of clinical development in Novexel leading to a successful deal with Forest Laboratories and subsequently by AstraZeneca. John completed his B.Sc. at Salisbury University and M.Sc. in Food Science from University of Maryland College Park. He received his Ph.D. in Food Sciences from University of Maryland College Park.

Richard Buchta, Ph.D. has more than 20 years of experience managing new product development R&D, Manufacturing and Business Development with 50+ product developments and 15 launched products to date with an accumulated sales of 1.5B USD. From 2006 to 2014, Richard was most recently the Senior Director of R&D and Operations at Stiefel Research, a GSK Company. He also spent his career at Astra Zeneca, Wyeth and Connectic in various roles including Project Manager and Director of Formulations and Operations. Richard is currently the President of RBR Consulting. He received his B.Sc. from Monash University in Chemistry and Biochemistry and an MBA from Deakin University. He also holds a Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry from Weizmann Institute of Science.

Learn more